You are here

President and members of Public Service Commission were sworn in

02/07/2021 09:06

The President and the members of the Public Service Commission were sworn in on Thursday during a ceremony at the Presidential Palace, that took place in the presence of Cyprus President, Nicos Anastasiades, who asked them to safeguard meritocracy, good administration, transparency and accountability in a way that promotes the public sense of justice.

President Anastasiades re-appointed George Papageorgiou as President of the Commission and its members Doros Eliodorou and Antonis Vassiliades. Vassiliki Anastasiadou and Costas Koumis were appointed as new members of the Commission.

Addressing the ceremony, Anastasiades said that the establishment of a reliable system for the Public Service has been since the very beginning a basic pillar of his government, and called on the political parties and the social partners to work together to fulfil the necessary reforms which do not only concern the public service.

He expressed certainty that the President and the members of the Commission will work in a way that will meet the high expectations that he and the citizens have.

On his part, Papageorgiou assured that "we will do our utmost" to meet the President`s expectations.

He noted that the Commission aspires to be an active party in efforts aiming to modernise the civil service.