You are here

Four countries downgraded, two upgraded, based on COVID-19 epidemiological risk

15/09/2020 14:30

Estonia and Georgia are being moved from Category A to B, the Czech Republic and Hungary from B to C, Rwanda from C to B, and Australia from B to A, according to the epidemiological risk of countries regarding COVID-19, which will come into effect on September 18.

According to the Ministry of Health, the epidemiological data is continuously evaluated and may change at any moment.

Category A – Low risk
EU member states: Germany, Latvia, Lithuania, Finland.
Schengen members: Norway.
Third countries: Australia, Canada, New Zealand, South Korea, Thailand.
Passengers arriving from Category A countries are not obliged to present a COVID-19 test certificate, nor are they obliged to self-isolate.

Category B – Possible low risk, higher risk than Category A
EU member states: Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Greece, Estonia, Ireland, Italy, Poland, Portugal, Sweden, Slovakia, Slovenia.
United Kingdom
Schengen members: Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein.
Small states: Vatican City, San Marino.
Third countries: Uruguay, China (including Hong Kong), Japan, Georgia, Rwanda.
Passengers from Category B countries must have a COVID-19 test certificate, proving they tested negative.
Cypriot citizens residing permanently in Cyprus, their foreign partners and underage children, as well as all legal residents of Cyprus, persons eligible according to the Vienna Convention, and persons whose countries do not provide testing services, can be tested on arrival at their own cost and must remain at home until the results are made available.

Category C – Higher risk compared to Categories A and B
EU member states: Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Malta, The Netherlands, Hungary, Czech Republic.
Small countries: Andorra, Monaco.
Third counties: Algeria, Serbia, Morocco, Montenegro, Tunisia.
Passengers from Category C countries are obliged to self-isolate for 14 days.

Information and instructions are available at

All passengers, irrespective of the category of country they are travelling from, are obliged to apply for the CyprusFlightPass within 24 hours of their flight’s departure.

Random tests for passengers of selected flight arrivals will be carried out.