You are here

Further modifications of country categories decided

05/04/2021 17:03

The Epidemiological Unit of the Ministry of Health has assessed the epidemiological picture of various countries regarding COVID-19 and changes will come into effect from 8th April, according to the Cabinet decision of 18th February concerning the Action Plan for the gradual resumption of flights.

According to the new categorisation, Thailand and South Korea move from Orange to Green, while Denmark and Israel move from Red to Orange.

In a press release, the Ministry of Health notes that the categorisation of EU countries and the European Economic Area (Iceland, Lichtenstein and Norway), including Switzerland to  Green, Orange or Red, is solely based on The European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (ECDC).

Regarding third countries (UK, Russia, Ukraine, Israel, Lebanon, United Arab Emirates, Jordan, Saudi Arabia, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, Serbia, USA, Armenia, Georgia and Bahrain) and those included in the revised catalogue of the European Council recommendation for the gradual abolition of temporary restrictions for non-necessary trips to the EU, these will be assessed by the Ministry of Health and placed into either the Green, Orange or Red Categories.

The categorisation of countries, is based on their epidemiological risk assessment, is extremely dynamic and can change at any time, as the pandemic evolves and epidemiological data change, the Health Ministry added.
Countries in Green Category are Australia, New Zealand, Singapore, Saudi Arabia, South Korea and Thailand. No certificates or self-restriction are necessary.

Countries in Orange Category are members Portugal and Denmark and Schengen members are Iceland while from Third countries are China, including Hong Kong and Macau as well as Israel.

Passengers from these countries need to have a PCR test carried out 72 hours prior to their departure and have a certificate that proves they have a negative PCR result for COVID-19.

Passengers from orange countries that are Cypriot nationals and members of their families may undergo a PC test upon their arrival. Also included in this category are persons who legally reside in Cyprus as well as those who are allowed to enter the Republic based on the Vienna Convention.

The cost of these tests is covered by the travellers and have to remain in self-isolation until the result of their tests.

Countries in Red Category are Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Croatia, Luxembourg, Romania, Spain, Italy, Greece, Malta, Netherlands, Hungary, Poland, Finland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Czech Republic,  Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Sweden, Germany, Ireland and small states Andorra, Monaco, Holy See, San Marino and Schengen countries Switzerland, Lichtenstein and Norway.
Third countries include the UK, Rwanda, Russia, UAE, Ukraine, Jordan, Lebanon, Egypt, Belarus, Qatar, USA, Armenia, Georgia and Bahrain.

In this category double laboratory testing is required; that is, a negative laboratory PCR test within 72 hours prior to departure and another laboratory PCR test upon arrival in Cyprus.   In this category, no self-isolation/quarantine measures apply. It should be noted that Cypriot citizens and legal residents of the Republic can choose  to undergo  a  laboratory  testing  only upon arrival  in  Cyprus.  In this case, they should remain in compulsory  self-isolation, in  accordance  with  the  relevant  instructions  of  the  Ministry  of  Health, unless they present an additional negative  PCR laboratory test within  72  hours prior to departure.
Regarding category Grey, the procedure for obtaining a special entry permit into the Republic, shall be implemented for citizens of third countries (exempt  from  the  requirement  of  a  special  permit are Cypriot citizens, persons lawfully residing in the  Republic  of  Cyprus  and  European citizens).  In this  category,  persons  arriving in the Republic  shall remain in compulsory self-isolation, in accordance with the relevant instructions of the Ministry of Health.