You are here

Health Ministry updates list of countries for travel to Cyprus

21/07/2020 10:25

Cyprus Health Mininstry on Monday updated the list of countries for travel to the island. The list is effective as of July 23 and was updated based on new epidemiological data regarding COVID-19 pandemic.

According to a press release issued by the Ministry, the countries from where Cyprus can receive tourists are classified in three categories.

In the revised list, Romania and Luxembourg have been moved from B to C category. Montenegro has also been added to this category.  Algeria, Morocco, Rwanda, Thailand, Tunisia and China have been added to B Category.

 Also, as of July 23, travelers from Italy will have the right to undergo a COVID-19 test at the airport upon their arrival and bear the cost themselves.

According to the Ministry of Health, this risk assessment can change at any time as the pandemic is developing and the epidemiological data are continuously under revision. Thus the list will be updated frequently.

It is noted that the recommendation of the European Council, dated 30 June, on lifting travel bans to the European Union has been taken into account for the latest categorization of countries.

Category A – Low risk countries at this stage

EU member states: Austria, Germany, Denmark, Greece, Estonia, Ireland, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Hungary, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Finland.
Schengen members: Switzerland, Iceland, Lichtenstein, Norway.
Third countries: Japan, Canada, New Zealand, South Korea.

Passengers arriving from Category A countries are not obliged to present a COVID-19 test certificate or to self-isolate.

Category B – Possible low risk countries, higher risk than Category A

EU member states: Belgium, Bulgaria, France, Spain, Italy, Croatia, The Netherlands, Czech Republic.
Small states: Andorra, Monaco, Vatican City, San Marino.
Third countries: Georgia, Uruguay, Australia, Algeria, Morocco, Rwanda, Thailand, Tunisia and China

Passengers from Category B countries are required to show a negative COVID-19 test at least 72 hours prior to their arrival.

It is clarified that passengers from Category B countries included in the following categories may undergo the molecular test upon arrival in the Republic:

a) Cypriot citizens and their family members (their foreign spouses, minor children and their parents); b) all persons legally resident in the Republic, c) persons entitled under the Vienna Convention, d) persons regardless of nationality, entitled to enter the Republic of Cyprus, after special permission from the Republic of Cyprus as determined by the Infectious Diseases Decree (No. 30) of 2020, and e) persons regardless of nationality where the Authorities of the country (Category B) residing do not provide laboratory analysis service to those who wish to travel to the Republic of Cyprus and upon relevant announcement.

It is noted that the cost of the test is covered by them and in addition these individuals must self-isolate until the result is confirmed.

As of July 23, travelers from Italy have the right to take the test upon their arrival  and pay the cost.

Category C – Higher risk compared to Categories A and B

EU member states: Portugal, Sweden, Luxembourg, Romania

United Kingdom

Third counties: Serbia, Montenegro

According to the Infectious Diseases Decree (No. 30) of 2020, only certain categories of citizens ( are allowed to enter the Republic from Category C countries, which have the opportunity to choose to undergo a diagnostic test for COVID-19 disease upon arrival or to have with them an RT-PCR COVID-19 certificate with a negative result at least 72 hours before departure. It is noted that these individuals should remain in self-restraint for 14 days. Relevant health instructions are available at

Passengers from Category C countries are obliged to self-isolate for 14 days.

All passengers, regardless of country category, are required to apply for the CyprusFlightPass ( within 24 hours before the departure of their flight.

In addition, for the purposes of safeguarding Public Health and in order to keep up the surveillance of the epidemiological data in Cyprus, a COVID-19 sample molecular laboratory test will be conducted on passengers of selected arriving flights.