You are here

Commission begins infringement procedures against multiple countries including Cyprus

22/09/2022 07:34

The European Commission has adopted a package of ten infringement procedures against multiple member states, among them five that include Cyprus, due to the absence of communication by Member States of measures taken to transpose EU directives into national law (referred to as ‘non-communication infringements').

The five non communication infringement procedures that concern Cyprus concern the following directives:

- directives on toy safety (2020/2088 and 2020/2089) which ban the use of allergenic fragrance in toys and amend existing directives (Cyprus is the only country that is receiving a letter of formal notice),

- a directive on transparent and predictable working conditions (2019/1152),

- a directive on company law and on streamlining company rules on digital tools and processes (2019/1151),

- a directive on helping prevent bankruptcy and granting easier access to financing (2019/1023) and

- a directive on work-Life Balance for parents and carers aimed towards fostering equality in the labour market (2019/1158).

The Commission is sending a letter of formal notice to those Member States who have failed to notify national measures transposing directives. In this case, there are 24 Member States who have not yet notified full transposition measures for 10 EU directives whose transposition deadline expired between 1st July and 31st August 2022.

Member States concerned now have two months to reply to the letters of formal notice and complete their transposition, or the Commission may decide to issue a reasoned opinion.